Spicy Asian Salmon (with quinoa!)

Here is, finally, the recipe for a delicious dinner I made last week. It was almost completely inspired by Trader Joe’s and it came together in no time!
DSC00040
DSC00043
I was particularly in love with their Salmon Burgers; which is basically just a circular cut of delicious salmon (and perfect for sandwiches). They come vacuum sealed in packs of two which is fantastic news for this chef for one. It takes away the need to divide and freeze any protein I buy. The Spicy Peanut dressing is also fantastic, and I just dressed the whole thing up with a few ingredients I had on hand.
favoritethings
(Garlic, ginger and cilantro: seriously three things I could add to just about everything I eat)

Spicy Asian Salmon
Defrost salmon burger and put in ziploc bag with a few tablespoons of the Spicy Peanut Dressing. Let it hang out for a while (I had it for about a half hour and it tasted great).

Once it’s marinated heat up a pan with about a tablespoon-ish of oil (I had coconut on hand, but I’m sure anything could work) and put the ginger and garlic in to start getting flavor. I used a clove of garlic and about an inch, grated, of ginger. I’d say a tablespoon? Once it’s all heated through and you can smell the spices, take the salmon out of the marinade and into the pan. It cooks quick! Give it just about 2-3 minutes on each side. Try not to stick your face too close to the hot pan, because it will smell very good.

Once cooked, serve on top of some quinoa-I just prepared it with water per the directions- and top with a bunch of chopped cilantro! DSC00044

DSC00045

How delicious does that look? And it was so quick to make and had very little clean up. The dressing flavors mix perfectly with the fresh spices, and it forms a little bit of golden crusty goodness on the salmon when it cooks. This is definitely something I’ll be making again soon!

Leave a Reply

