Knowing when to take a break

Morning everyone! How is everything going in your part of the world? I hope it’s less rainy than it is here today. It’s bound to be a little gloomy, but the silver lining of this is that it’s (finally!!!) too warm to snow, so I’m not going to complain too much.

One of my major issues when I work out is knowing when to take a break with my whole life. I am under the impression that it is 100% feasible to complete the whole to do list I have daily (and I manage to make some epic to do lists). Most of the time, I do manage to do everything and it feels great, between workouts, things to do at home, and plans with friends. However I manage to overload myself sometimes because it’s so hard to say no! I am the queen of making last minute plans with friends and then scrambling to make them fit. It’s a bad habit, but hey, we can’t be perfect.

This all leads to me being overwhelmed and I shut down and get nothing done. Or getting everything done but missing out on some essentials–like sleep and health and the blog. Yes, it’s essential. I woke up nice and early at 4:30 this morning but with a tickle in my throat and a stuffy nose. No matter, though, I had a morning gym date with my friend Madeline that I had to go to!

Thank goodness she texted me a little after waking up asking to reschedule because I don’t think I would have realized the obvious if she hadn’t. I have complained every day this week about how tired I feel after work, in the mornings, and today I wake up with almost-sick feelings? Helloooo, Natalia, you’re not taking care of yourself. You’re going to burn out and turn into a sad, phlegmy mess! So instead of getting all negative about myself I put my pi’s back on, got back in bed with a large glass of water and my vitamin C, and am now spending the morning doing blog things. Thank goodness for that!

Amen

This afternoon I really am hoping to get fitted for new shoes so I hope I am feeling up for it! My beloved Asics are overdue for their retirement and I want to find something new before I injure myself.

What do you do to take care of yourself?
How do you know that you’re doing too much?

My go-to indication that I’m doing too much is when I get un-smiley. I’m normally really social and upbeat, particularly at work, so when I adopt the “keep my head down and do work without talking much to anyone” mentality, it usually means that I’m getting overwhelmed.

Leave a Reply

