Lot of M’s: Meal Planning, Motivation Monday, and Marathons (kind of)

Today was loaded with M’s, as you can tell! I’m really excited to discuss, in some way, each of them, so I want to get right into it!

Most people spend their Sundays getting their meals planned out for the week and grocery shopping. I, however, hate the thought. Grocery stores are way too chaotic for me on Sunday and I prefer to devote Sundays to only doing things I love. (Mainly, running, eating brunch with friends, and working my way through this list.) Since my running week begins on Mondays and ends on Sunday, I figured my meal planning would end up the same way. Sunday night, I plan. Monday night, I shop. Here’s what my meals look like for the week!

Meal Plan
Monday: Lobster ravioli and roasted veggies
Tuesday: Roasted veggies and Lemon Pepper Tilapia
Wednesday: Salmon burger with avocado (a TJ’s find. I’ll let you know what I think of it!)
Thursday: Scrambled egg tortilla, to satisfy my breakfast for dinner love
Friday: Leftovers
Saturday: Quinoa with roasted veggies and sweet potato
Sunday: Wing it. I’ll be out all day between the Shamrock Shuffle and a friend’s birthday party.

I’m not usually one to meal plan so strictly but I’ve found, since I’ve given up meat for Lent, it’s much easier for me to stray and eat way too much if I don’t have an idea of what to make every day. We’ll see how it works!

Today’s motivation comes from a few of my favorite Pinterest finds, yet again.

source


source

My workout plan for the week is pretty lenient. Until my official training starts in a few months I’ll have a rough outline for my week, but I’m not going to get down on myself if I decide to change things up.

Workout Plan
Monday: Stretch and strengthen
Tuesday: 3 easy miles
Wednesday: Speed work (My sick pleasure. Seriously, I don’t get why I love it so much, but I do.
Thursday: 3 easy miles and strength training.
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Rest
Sunday: Shamrock Shuffle 8K!

I’m really looking forward to Sunday’s race. Last year I had a stellar experience that included some impressive splits, and it’ll be nice to have race season starting over again! Now if only this weather would warm up, but I suppose we can’t have it all, can we?

Finally, I wanted to mention that I did have a goal race for this year and, after a lot of though, I’ve signed up for the Chicago Marathon again. I’ll go into it more as everything in the registration process is finalized, but I will be running for a charity that I feel veryyy strongly about. My goal race this year is the Chicago Half Marathon, where I hope to PR with an under 2 hour marathon. It’s a dream, and probably a long shot, but it’s what’s on the roster! More details about both of those to come later.

Questions: Do you/when do you meal plan? When do you do your grocery shopping? Any races on the calendar this year?

3 thoughts on “Lot of M’s: Meal Planning, Motivation Monday, and Marathons (kind of)

  1. When is the Chicago 1/2? I really want to run that this year! But I don’t know if I’d have time to get ready for it since I’m still doing 5 miles usually. Your meals sound delicious!!!!

      1. Maybe I will just register! I keep trying to wait until I FEEL ready, but maybe I just need to force myself! Although I just hate competing at anything. I know it’s not REALLY a competition, but I prefer to just go out and run when I want to! However, I’ll quit before 13 miles if I do that! I’m going to look into it. I’ve heard Chicago is a good one!

Leave a Reply

