The one time I ate the best meal of my life so far

I have been meaning to tell you guys about this for some time, so I’m sorry it’s taken so long!

Every year the city of Chicago has Restaurant Week, with tons of restaurants all over the city participating. The gist of it is that all these restaurants create prix-fixe menus for lunch and/or dinner at prices that are more affordable than usual. It’s incredible and a great opportunity to try out a new restaurant, especially if that restaurant is usually out of your price range. Hello, post-grad salary!

My colleague Amanda and I both have a love of oysters and seafood, so when we saw that GT Fish and Oyster was on the list of restaurants this year we had to jump at the opportunity to go!

GT Fish and Oyster is a really modern seafood restaurant and oyster bar with a Michelin starred chef (I just learned that!). Their year round menus are incredible but it definitely falls under the category of special occasion restaurants. Thankfully I had the opportunity to experience their equally impressive Restaurant Week dinner menu with Amanda.

Since there were two of us we decided to just get one of everything and taste it all. It was great to get to try 8 different dishes over the course of one dinner! And, as the title of this post might tell you, this is really truly one of the best meals I’ve had ever, hands down. The quality of the seafood was divine, and everything was prepared incredibly. There was nothing that I didn’t love about this dinner. I was even so into the food that I didn’t remember to take pictures of everything. So not normal. But I got pictures of what I think were some of the best dishes of the night. Enjoy!

Even though they weren’t on the Restaurant Week Menu, we had to get some oysters.
20140208-152245.jpg
As was the case with my last oyster experience, the little blue ones from the West Coast stole the show!

20140208-152437.jpg
New England Clam Chowder. My favorite dish of the night, it was extremely difficult to only eat half of it and share the rest. Creamy, crunchy with the croutons, flavorful with clam and smoky bacon, and a little spicy. It was absolute perfection. And for the small cup that we got, there had to have been about 8 or 9 whole clams in it. They did not hold back. I may have since had dreams about this soup.

20140208-152506.jpg
Dessert #1: Devil’s food cake with peanut butter sauce, salted caramel ice cream, and crunchy chocolatey bits all over the plate. It was sinfully good!

20140208-152616.jpg
Dessert #2: Coconut cake. Amanda and I were both looking forward to this dish and it did not disappoint! There was coconut flavor bursting out of it and the cake was perfectly moist even without the sauce and sorbet. We could have eaten 4 of these.

Just writing about this is making me want to go back for another dinner! Yum!

What’s the best meal you’ve ever eaten?
Do you like seafood?

One thought on “The one time I ate the best meal of my life so far

Leave a Reply

