Goal work update

The week is halfway through and, in case anyone was wondering, we are officially one month until my birthday, for which I am very excited.

Right now I think I’m trying to fight off a cold because I’m all sorts of stuffy and chap-lipped. Gross. Taking the necessary precautions: lots of vitamin C and sleep.

In the meantime, I wanted to share with you a little update on Goal #4. When it comes to maintaining my weight, as long as I am active and attempting to keep up a healthy diet (read: not gorging myself on holiday treats) I am pretty successful. However, I need a very strict regimen any time I want to lose weight. I knew I would have to adopt something, and I have heard fantastic things recently about MyFitnessPal so I decided to give it a try. So far, I’ve lost a few pounds and gotten pretty familiar with the program. My thoughts on it:

Pros:

-It’s very specific in figuring out your lifestyle.
-It breaks down your meals not just with calories, but nutrition information, and shows goals for carbs, protein, and fat consumed. (This in particular showed me that I am eating way too many carbs and could use a boost in protein)
You can enter recipes!!!! (I was so excited about this: You mean I don’t have to list the 15 ingredients for this homemade soup every time I eat it? Score!)
-It also tracks water intake.
-It can be as public or private of a profile as you want. Sorry world, I’m not sharing my calorie intake with you quite yet.

Cons:

-I have to remember to enter every little piece of food I eat during the day. If I don’t enter it right as I eat it, I may forget it later.
-It doesn’t adjust calories based on rate of weight loss. The last time I did this, I used an app that would adjust itself as you did weight check ins. If you were losing weight faster than your goal, it allots more calories, and vice versa. This past week I lost more than what I anticipated (a victory in its own right, but it was probably water weight, letsbehonest) and I don’t want to be losing weight too quickly because I’m afraid I’m not eating enough calories to sustain myself.

Overall, I’m really happy with it and plan on sticking to it at least until I’ve reached my goal. I am also considering keeping it beyond that point to help me keep a good track of my eating in the long term.

That being said, here’s a little photo recap of what I ate today!

Breakfast: Sautéed kale (I’m almost finished with the bunch!), turkey sausage, an egg over-medium, and a cup of yogurt. Protein is something I tend to forget in the mornings unless it’s a smoothie and I’m going to adding it in more. Hello eggs!

20140122-205018.jpg

Dinner: Getting out of work late messes up the entire evening commute, so after waiting 40 minutes for a bus and only having enough time for a quick 20 minute run on the treadmill, I came home starving and ready for a delicious entree salad. In a mixing bowl, of course, because I firmly believe that no other bowl is big enough to hold the happiness that is fresh vegetables

Step one: assemble dressing. Mine was half olive oil, half balsamic vinegar, all red pepper flakes. Put together in the bottom of the bowl to ease clean up. Once the salad was ready, I just mixed it all in!

20140122-202557.jpg

Step two: spend forever chopping veggies and arranging in nice, photogenic sections for the Instagram opportunity. In this we have carrots, bell peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes, radishes, and turkey. I swear there’s a spinach-arugula mix under there somewhere too. Refrain from drooling in it. 20140122-202752.jpg

 

Step 3: gobble it up with a cup of Minute rice on the side. This is a mix of brown and wild rice. I got the single serving sample pack at a race expo and it’s very convenient. Just throw it in the microwave for 60 seconds and then fluff it up. 20140122-202820.jpg

 

Work and life are still busy-busy-busy so I’m going to be making the most of any downtime I get and, hopefully, this under the weather feeling goes away! 

Have you ever used a food diary? 
What are your favorite salad ingredients?

2 thoughts on “Goal work update

Leave a Reply

