Marathon planning already?

Where is the month going? I can’t believe it’s marathon registration time already. Well, not quite, but the information about it has been released today and I want to chit chat about it. But first, the only interesting photo of my day: dinner.

20140116-200607.jpg

Apparently I may actually like kale now? This time I made it with two cloves of garlic instead of one (because there’s never enough garlic) and it was pretty tasty. The big problem with living alone is that when I buy produce I either have to buy the smallest amount or I’m eating it every day for the foreseeable future. Since I can’t buy kale by the stalk you can guess which option I’m left with. #kaleonkaleonkale

Since I ate a pretty large lunch at work today my appetite was relatively small at dinner and I kept it to veggies. Hummus and sriracha rounded things out and it was delicious. A little later I had a banana with a spoonful of peanut butter and a dash of cinnamon as dessert; it worked for my terrible sweet tooth!

Earlier today Caitlin texted me the most recent update for the Chicago Marathon registration process. I’m still not sure if I’ll be running this year; it’s a huge goal to work on doing better on the marathon but I’m considering using this year to perfect my technique. Either way, for those that don’t know, the Chicago Marathon is going to operate with a guaranteed registration and a lottery system. There are pre-requisites to meet if you want a guaranteed registration (qualifying time, commitment to a charity, or seniority in having run 5 of the last 10 years). Otherwise, you’re left with the lottery.

I’m trying to figure out how I feel about it. I had a feeling that some sort of qualification system would eventually come about given last year’s insane snafu with registration. It’s a bummer that this race has become a semi-qualifying race, particularly for me and others who run to complete and without any particular time goals. It’s going to complicate things when it comes to deciding what my race goals will be this year

What’s your opinion on the Chicago Marathon registration? Do you plan on running? Can you run?

5 thoughts on “Marathon planning already?

  1. I am planning on posting a little bit about the registration too. They are also bumping up the cap to 45,000 people!! I could not be happier because I have snagged a guaranteed spot (qualifying time), but it is an interesting system… I wonder how many lottery spots are going to be opened? It also is odd how late registration will be confirmed this year – mid-April as opposed to February last year!

    1. I’m excited the cap is higher but I think the lottery pool depends on how many people take a guaranteed spot. You can register for a guaranteed spot up until the end of the lottery registration. So by that logic, if 45,000 take a guaranteed spot there won’t be any room left for non-guaranteed runners, right? I’m hoping they cap the amount of guaranteed spots they have, but I haven’t seen anything about that yet.

      1. That is a good point. They won’t know how may lottery spots there are until the very last day. Have you thought about running for a charity? I will be running for Dance Marathon again, so even if I did not have a guaranteed spot, they reserve spots for their runners.

Leave a Reply

