Prost! to the weekend

Happy Sunday everyone! I hope it’s been a great weekend for everyone. Even with the holidays being over, I’ve still been very busy and spending time with family. (New Years Day is the birthday of my cousin C and we obviously have to celebrate in style!) So far this weekend, I’ve been traveling, eating, and finally relaxing. I’ve taken a bunch of pictures but nothing is cohesive about it, so just go along with it, okay?

What with Friday’s weather being disastrous I had to postpone my train ride home until Saturday morning. Which created a perfect opportunity for grabbing some delicious coffee.
20140112-115340.jpg

For C’s birthday dinner, we went to the Hofbrauhaus out in Rosemont. It’s a micro-brewery and restaurant made to replicate authentic German beer halls and it’s quite a trip!
20140112-115631.jpg
(From my Instagram)

The dozen or so people who came for my cousin sat at glorified picnic benches, we had a super boisterous waitress who kept hugging us and yelling at us, and the band was so much fun! They had a pretty authentic German/Bavarian style, kept shouting out cheers for us to do and entertaining us with music. At one point, the whole restaurant was told to stand on their benches and do a dance to go along with the song they were playing. Needless to say, I was more than game to join in.

The food was very traditional German fare. We had cold cuts and a few giant pretzels as appetizers. I’m a huge sucker for pretzels so I was excited to dig in. I chose the Schweinebraten as my entree. It was a giant pork roast with dark beer gravy and reminded me a lot of traditional Polish food that my parents and grandparents cook. It was great but, I must warn you, does not photograph very well.
20140112-115751.jpg
The most interesting part was the two different kinds of dumplings that came with it! The potato dumpling was very familiar to me, but I’ve never had a dumpling made out of bread! It was pretty good and I really like using them to soak in the yummy gravy.

Oh, and the beer was pretty good too.
20140112-115531.jpg
PROST!

Today has been exceptionally lazy and I could not ask for it any other way. I’ve been sitting in comfy clothes, listening to music, sipping coffee, and painting my nails. Tough, I know. My mom made French Toast with Panettone for breakfast this morning.
20140112-115838.jpg
I’m not a big fan of raisins in baked goods, but otherwise the flavor was amazing! The yeasty bread was really soft after it cooked in the egg mixture and it tasted like a special Sunday breakfast.

Our only big project for today is trying out a recipe from one of new cookbooks!
20140112-115359.jpg
My mom understands my obsession with The Pioneer Woman and so she got me two of her books! I’ve already looked through both of them and they look so cute. I can’t wait to try out some more of these recipes as the year goes on; she may not cook diet food but her simple recipes always come out looking like I slaved away when I didn’t, so they’re perfect for special occasions! I’ll be sure to come back and let you know how my first attempt goes!

What’s your weekend been like? Have you relaxed? Traveled? Spent time with family? Eaten?

Leave a Reply

