Goals 2014

Woke up with Backstreet Boys stuck in my head. I’m not mad about it.

I also woke up with a bunch of thoughts in my head. I know I’m a little late in the game to all the blogging New Year’s Resolutions but better late than never, right?

Resolutions are not really my style. I think it’s silly to make a list of all these things you want to do in the next year, not because it’s not a great idea (it is!) but because I never ever keep them up. I really am the worst about it. There’s too much finality in resolutions (I will go to the gym 5 days a week, I will drink 8 cups of water a day, etc) and it becomes too black-and-white and I am set up for failure. Only went to the gym 4 times last week? Well, there goes that resolution!

And, for the record, I am the kind of person that, even if I work out 5 days a week every other week of the year, would remember that one week I didn’t and still feel like I didn’t succeed. I have a huge guilty conscience and that is why resolutions are no good for me.

This year, instead, I’m creating goals for myself. They are purposely going to be vague, so that I can create and adjust my game plan for achieving them as the year goes on. My goal with that (I’m all about goals apparently!) is to start with small adjustments to work towards them and up the ante over time. I think that this approach will be much more successful than years past, so for now here’s the list!

Goals 2014

  1. Do better at the marathon this year (I am very unhappy with my performance last year and I need to improve. More on that to come!)
  2. Make core strength a priority. This is the one area of my body that is still very hard for me to work on. I’ve resolved to make 2014 the year of abs!
  3. Show my love more. For God, my family, friends, the Earth, my colleagues, acquaintances, this blog etc. I’m a person with a lot of love and I need to show it more.
  4. Finally get down to my goal weight. Okay, okay, maybe this one is more results based than I originally intended, but I keep getting close to that goal and then getting sidelined by things (read: Christmas cookies) and I would like for that habit to end.

Hopefully this is a short enough list that I can attain (and maintain!) some level of success with each of these. I’m going to go into each of these more in-depth in the next few days but I can’t wait to start working towards each of these goals!

Starting tomorrow…. 😉

What are your goals for 2014?

3 thoughts on “Goals 2014

Leave a Reply

