CouchGate was a success

What a great weekend it was! My Saturday was spent doing a ton of shopping for Sunday. I had a little get together to watch the Bears game (#1 in the NFC North, yeah!) and it ended up being a giant success!

PS. I also ran the Rudolph Ramble 8K on Sunday morning before CouchGate 2013. I’ll have my recap of that up soon but I’ve got to warn you that I took no pictures (bad blogger!) as it was a balmy 14 degrees and I was a little more concerned with things like avoiding hypothermia.

Anywho, I made a Pioneer Woman recipe that I was talking about the other day and it was a gargantuan success! I had seen her make Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork on her show a while back and I had always wanted to make it. It sounds strange but I had a feeling it would be delicious and it was! It also was incredibly easy to make too; just a few ingredients and then you toss it in the oven for a while. I woke up early before the race and put it in the oven so that it was ready just in time for lunch.

20131217-063808.jpg
Yummy yummy pulled pork after I had taken it out of the oven and shredded it + I’m clearly a messy cook with that dirty stove.

Everyone loved it and some went back for seconds. Which is great because I cooked for an army and had 10 people over. It’s a problem of mine.

20131217-063750.jpg
The spread. Clearly I thought everyone would be starving. I also made this Spinach Salsa Queso dip in my slow cooker and it was sooooooo good. It even reheated well at work yesterday when I brought leftovers for my coworkers.

Having people over and entertaining is one of my favorite things to do and I don’t usually get a chance to do it much because of my small home. Thankfully my friends were wonderful enough to look past the small apartment (good thing some of them didn’t mind sitting on the floor) and we all had a great day!

What are your go-to entertaining recipes? I think I might make that Spinach Queso a regular in my rotation. My other favorite are 2 ingredient pumpkin cookies.

2 thoughts on “CouchGate was a success

Leave a Reply

