It’s only crazy if it doesn’t work

Happy Sunday everyone! I hope it’s much cheerier than the weather we’ve had here in Chicago today. Though, admittedly, it’s perfect sweatpants-and-movies weather.

You guys know those football commercials that show fans doing silly traditions, and they say its only crazy if it doesn’t work? I think frozen yogurt is my foolproof pre-race tradition.

20130915-163215.jpg
This morning I ran the Bucktown 5K with a bunch of hometown and city friends, so naturally last night I had to force my friend Jeff to eat Fro Yo with me.

20130915-163349.jpg
Judging by his face you can tell what a burden it was.

The race, despite being cold and rainy, was a ton of fun for 3 major reasons.
1) There was a goat named Snot. Apparently Bucktown is named after goats (who knew?!) and RAM managed to get one to come be a mascot.

20130915-163626.jpg
She was really quite sassy and I liked her.
2) I PR’ed! That’s two in 2 weeks so I’m going to soak up the good vibes because I’m sure they won’t last forever. Granted, I’ve never run a 5K with the intention of doing well (they’re always for fun) so my prior times weren’t anything to write home about. But I promised my friend Meg I’d pace her at about 9 min/miles and even with my crazy tired legs I managed to finish in 27:43 with an average pace of 8:56. Not too shabby!
3) My friends and I dallied quite a bit after we finished trying to decide where to go to brunch and the race coordinators had tons of food left over so they insisted we take a bunch! Free bagels, bananas, and Silk Chocolate Soymilk?! Don’t have to ask me twice.

20130915-164238.jpg

20130915-164252.jpg

20130915-164306.jpg
We were all winners this morning.

20130915-164336.jpg
After we’d spent far too long standing around in the rain we enjoyed brunch at The Edge in Lincoln Park.

20130915-164519.jpg
I had the special, which was Chipotle Chicken Eggs Benedict. The potatoes were just alright but the eggs were good. Avocado+eggs=delicious almost always.

My afternoon is being spent watching football and movies. I can’t think of a better end to my weekend!

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever received from a race? Did your NFL team win today?

4 thoughts on “It’s only crazy if it doesn’t work

  1. Congrats on your PR! I got a lot of cool swag from the North Country Trail Run (I did the half). The best part of the swag was a customized jacket for registering early. I got my name printed on the back.

Leave a Reply

