What has happened?!

Today I was approached by one of my coworkers, also a reader, who just stared at me for a few seconds and blurts out “Are you not blogging anymore?!”

Whoops.

I know I have been gone for quite some time and that is totally my fault. It has been a very crazy and chaotic few weeks and, to be honest, blogging has fallen by the wayside. Hardcore. There is absolutely no way I can thoroughly recap my last few weeks so I’m posting all the pictures I’ve got on my phone and piecing it together. (Another point as to how bad I’ve been: I have no new pictures on my camera since Puerto Rico. What the what?!)

Food:

20130903-193857.jpg

There have been oodles of smoothies in my life lately. Apparently I can’t eat plantains and mofongo for every meal so I’ve been putting veggies back into it. The one above happened to have strawberries, spinach, and chocolate protein powder. I’ll be posting a bunch of my smoothie recipes soon!

20130903-193918.jpg

Wine named after candy? Yes please.

20130903-193929.jpg

My hometown has a Ribfest every summer and it was the perfect end to a day with a 14 mile run. 20130903-194000.jpg

This meal may be the highlight of my life. A few of my friends had a genuine clam boil. The monstrosity included lobsters, clams, mussels, shrimp, potatoes, corn, and sausage. Everything was so fresh (read: alive), we forbade plates and just ate off of butcher paper, and I felt like I was in New England for a night. This dinner was beyond anything I’ve eaten recently. 20130903-194012.jpg

I went to the Green City Farmer’s Market in Lincoln Park this past weekend to pick up a few things for pizza night. It was super rainy but it was nice in that there weren’t as gargantuan of crowds. These Michigan blueberries were delicious. 20130903-194029.jpg

Julia and I had pizza and movie night. Mine: arugula, heirloom tomato, goat cheese, and garlic. Julia’s: jalepeno, onion, olive, and vegan mozzarella. 20130903-194059.jpg

20130903-194112.jpg

Lunch with my family at Native Foods in Lakeview. This is delicious vegan food that makes you forget its vegan. I got the blackened tacos, which had tons of fresh veggies, and we also split the Jack Fritters. They were really good too, especially that remoulade.

20130903-194126.jpg

And to conclude everything, a Pumpkin Spice Latte. Because it’s fall everyone!

 

Fun:

Here’s an idea of all the shenanigans I’ve been into lately. I got a little touristy and went to Millennium Park two nights in row; once for a failed Movies in the Park experience and once for a totally successful one!20130903-194152.jpg

Successful because they added Star Wars: Episode 4 to the lineup at the last minute and I had to come down to watch it. It was everything I hoped for and more, particularly because a few of these guys were just chatting it up with the locals.

20130903-194236.jpg

I ran 14 miles and it was misery (more on that another day, maybe, if I ever live it down) but I made it all the way up to Evanston and back so I documented my visit to the suburbs to prove I actually did it. 20130903-194250.jpg

And as a reward for running I spent all of the next day on a boat, celebrating a friend’s birthday and taking in the most spectacular views of the ends of a Chicago summer. Seriously, where has this summer gone? I cannot believe Labor Day just passed. 20130903-194312.jpg

Sometimes I realize I live in a beautiful city.

And I’d like to introduce you all to my new door man. He spent all day at the front door. 20130903-194344.jpg

He’s more of a quiet guy, but I think he’ll do a great at his job.
I suppose it’s time to get back into the real grind of life and keep this bad boy updated. I warn you, you may not see as frequent of updates but they will be more detailed with my training and my food!

Question: Who’s running the Chicago Half Marathon this Sunday?

 

One thought on “What has happened?!

Leave a Reply

