Fifty and fabulous

Happy Monday evening everyone! I hope your day was less chaotic than mine was; unfortunately I had to get the news that my old lady love Heidi had to be put down this afternoon.

IMG_1991

She was a giant neurotic lug with the biggest heart of any animal I’ve known.
Heidi2
I’m going to miss how excited she would get every time it snowed and how she always insisted on sitting on my feet.

But on to a more uplifting part of my weekend! It really was a fun and eventful few days and I can’t believe how much I managed to cram into 48 hours.

My uncle’s 50th birthday was last week and Saturday we had a surprise birthday dinner for him!
IMG_2681
A bunch of friends and family met at a BBQ restaurant near my parent’s home. When my uncle came in he had NO idea what he was in for! He was completely shocked.
IMG_2676
We had a fantastic time catching up, chatting around a gigantic table, and eating all the most amazing barbecue food!
IMG_2692
IMG_2697
IMG_2682
There was brisket, ribs, and chicken, but my eyes only saw the pulled pork.
IMG_2684
I made myself a slider with pork, coleslaw, pickles, and tons of sauce. It was beyond amazing.
I also enjoyed a tiny little corn bread muffin.
IMG_2683
And then, because there was more food to be had, I invented the best thing you’ll put in your mouth an amazing version of mac n cheese.
IMG_2686
PULLED PORK MACARONI AND CHEESE. HOLY CANNOLI.

After dinner we all drove back to my aunt and uncle’s home to cut cake, eat dessert, and mingle some more.
IMG_2700
IMG_2707
My cousins really are the coolest, even though they’re all younger than me and towering over me. It’s so much fun seeing them and I wish we saw each other more.

What a fantastic night I had! Happy birthday Bo!
IMG_2687

Tomorrow it’s off to do some speed work with my newest purchase and then some Barre at night!

What’s your favorite BBQ foods?
Pulled pork, coleslaw, macaroni and cheese.

One thought on “Fifty and fabulous

Leave a Reply

