The racing bug (and my first giveaway!)

Hooked you with that giveaway mention, didn’t I? I’m just as excited as you are, trust me. Well read on, I’ll get to it eventually!

Summers in Chicago mean racing season and, without fail, I find myself looking up races starting in April. A few upcoming races have reached out to me to mention them. They all look really fun!

The Midwest Reebok Spartan Race is in a few weeks (July 20-21st) in Marseilles, IL. This is an 8+ mile race that they describe as “battlefield of insane mud running with obstacles to test your physical strength and mental resolve,” which basically tells me it’s not for weenies. And since we’re all hardcore on this blog this sounds like exactly the type of fun we’re looking for! They’re very secretive about what the course is like (which is an exciting surprise!) but they do mention that there are tons of activities for all types of people in this two day event (like a Jr. Spartan Adventure Race for kids) and this was Outside Magazine’s Best Obstacle Course Race of 2012. If you’re looking for a fun and sweaty race to do, check out The Spartan Race. (Don’t miss their super promo video. Athletes be crazy!)

If you like the idea of an obstacle course but aren’t cool with getting that much mud on your kicks then be sure to check out the Shape Diva Dash coming to the Chicago area on August 3rd. Sponsored by Shape Magazine this is a ladies only obstacle course that’s fun without quite as much mess! This sounds like a really empowering run that manages to be tons of fun too! Be sure to leave the kids with the man at home and pull together your best girlfriends. Maybe tutus and costumes are in order too!

Finally, the Strike Out ALS 5K is coming up on Tuesday, July 23rd. This is a 5K race that takes place at US Cellular Field (or Comiskey, for all you purists) and benefits the Les Turner ALS Foundation. Strike Out is really unique in that it’s a Tuesday night, you start at home plate and end on the warning track, and it’s a super family friendly event that’ll have an MLB All Star Game viewing party after! Lin Brehmer from WXRT will be the emcee for the event. The great thing is that you don’t have to be running to go to the after party; friends and family are all welcome!

And even better is that Strike Out ALS has given me a race entry to give away to one of you fantastic readers! I really wish I could make it to this race, but my weekday work schedule prevents it. I’m always searching for anything White Sox themed because when living on the North Side, apart from being way outnumbered by fans, I feel like all I hear about are races for the other team.

I’m going to give this Rafflecopter thing a whirl!
Comment on this post to get an entry. Follow me (@WindyCityRG) and @lesturnerals on Twitter and tweet this for another entry!

This giveaway ends Tuesday, July 16th at 11:59PM. Winner will be announced on Wednesday morning!

 Click here to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway

7 thoughts on “The racing bug (and my first giveaway!)

  1. The Strike Out ALS 5K would be fantastic and another (like I need another) reason to throw on my Sox Gear!!!

    I feel your pain with living amongst Cubs fans…..my neighbors seem to be equally divided (much like the City itself?!). I wish Cubs fans knew it’s a losing battle year in and year out.

    1. PS Followed you @WindyCityRG – twitter has limited me from following @lesturnerals…apparently they have a cap. Who knew!?

Leave a Reply

