Meal Planning Monday

It’s a great feeling to wake up sore from yesterday’s workout. This morning my upper back and glutes are feeling the burn of Sunday morning (pun totally intended). It’s pretty reasonable to assume that I will did not do much heavy lifting today. But I was super excited for my speed work! (I cannot believe I actually said that)

Workout: speed work 1 mile warm up, 4×800, 1 mile cool down. My gym is a half mile from home so I jogged a half mile on the treadmill and walked the rest as my cool down. Speed splits went like this:
4:28, 4:18, 4:09, 4:02. I’ve really grown to love speed work and take it as a great time to push myself. Hence the serious speeding up.

Breakfast: Black coffee and a cereal bowl. It was pretty standard and boring, so there was no picture. I did chop up some strawberries into it and added a handful of blueberries. Cereal just tastes so much better with fresh fruit.

Speaking of fresh fruit, today is the day I picked up my produce for the week. Since I have no car, it’s pretty difficult (on my arms) to buy all my groceries in one day and haul them home. Because of this, I’ve had to get a little creative and buy specific things at specific locations. Here are some of my best practice tips for how to grocery shop without a car!

1. Prioritize what comes from where. I am lucky enough to have two grocery stores about 3 blocks from my apartment. Because of it, I am very specific about what groceries I buy at each store. For example, all my specialty food and treats I buy at Trader Joe’s. Doing all my groceries there can get a little costly for me, but I can’t live without Cowboy Caviar and chopped nuts (this time it’s almonds) so I always make sure I have space in my budget and fridge for just a few things from there. Most of the rest of my food comes from the much more affordable neighborhood market that’s across the street.

2. Incorporate grocery shopping into your current schedule. For me, Monday is always produce day. I get it on my lunch hour at this fantastic affordable produce store that is less than a block from work. I don’t need to schedule another outing. I don’t need to go out of my way to shop. And by the time I get home, I’ve got all the fresh fruit and vegetables I could need for a week.

3. Make the most out of healthy frozen food. I would love to always have fresh food to cook with, but I need to be more honest with my reality. I’m 24 years old, I only cook for myself, I like going out for meals once in a while, I get bored of food pretty easily, and I’m fed at work so I eat pretty light at home. There’s no way I’ll be able to get through a whole package of fresh chicken breasts by myself. If I buy a whole head of broccoli it will go bad before I finish it. So if buying frozen food (or freezing fresh food) pays off more, then that’s what I’m going to do. Most of my proteins are frozen. Several kinds of vegetables freeze well (corn, broccoli, peas, cauliflower, even carrots and mushrooms) so I don’t always buy them fresh. I have larger amounts of them that will last me much longer then their fresh counterparts. Plus that way I don’t need to buy them as often so my grocery trips are lighter in the mean time (which is great when I have to walk my bags home).

20130715-211742.jpg
My haul for the week: kale, spinach, bananas, basil, blueberries, strawberries, manila mango, green pepper, apples, artichokes, can of chickpeas, and can of pineapple. (Okay, so it’s not all fresh but, again, I know I won’t eat an entire pineapple on my own, and I needed the juice for a smoothie recipe.)

Since I mentioned it, a family friend sent me a new smoothie recipe that I cannot wait to try out in the morning. Can’t wait to fill you in!

Question: What day do you buy your groceries? How do you plan?

One thought on “Meal Planning Monday

  1. Great job with the intervals! They better pay off right? This heat really leaves the body a little more achey afterwards!

    I generally go to the grocery store every 2 days or so, My wife does most of the planning since she has a more limited amount of calories than I do.. But frequent trips are great since the cashiers there love out kid and she always asks for stickers that say “thank you” for stuff that doesn’t fit in bags.

Leave a Reply

