My favorite lady

I’ve been trying to wean myself off of my caffeine (and Starbucks) addiction lately and, just like my fellow coffee addict Running for Boston, have been keeping it to one coffee a day. My biggest issue is my ability to pour my life savings into Starbucks, so I’ve been pretty adamant about only buying it once a week (to make sure I maintain Gold status, of course)

20130711-074224.jpg
It’s a great morning when I spend time with that lady and her green straws.

Food: smoothies for breakfast these last two days! I’ve been keeping it simple with ingredients too.
Yesterday’s had banana, spinach, peanut butter, chocolate protein powder, and almond milk.
Today’s was strawberries, blueberries, tons of spinach, protein powder, and milk. I had a spoonful of peanut butter but it missed the blender and consequently landed in my mouth. What a klutz 😉

Someone mentioned a snack plate the other day and it reminded me how much I missed them (I used to make them all the time) so it was time for a revival.

20130711-074725.jpg
Cucumbers, carrots, spicy blue corn chips, and TJ’s Cowboy Caviar, which is hands down the best salsa in the history of salsas. And I’ve eaten a lot of salsa.

Workout: 1:2:1 tempo run. Tempo pace ~8:57. I’m beginning to get a lot better and understanding what paces to maintain in each training run, and I’m starting to see some serious improvements as far as cardiovascular abilities. IE much more consistent breathing and much fewer/no stitches and gasping. I can also feel my heart rate settling down faster whenever I do rests in my speed work. Now if only I can keep this wonderful pacing u off the treadmill…can’t win them all!

I have also been spending a lot of time with these old friends at home

20130711-075446.jpg
And my ice pack. It’s mostly preventative since my legs have been feeling great lately but yesterday I felt a little complaining from my left calf (which I strained earlier this year). Stretching and ice ice baby should be the ticket for success though.

Question: what’s your favorite 80s jam? What’s your favorite snack?
Anything Queen and chips and salsa. Guac is optional (and I’ll probably start a revolt with that last statement)

4 thoughts on “My favorite lady

  1. Haha-I’m glad I had an influence on you! 😉

    My favorite 80s jam is Man In Thh Mirror!

    My favorite snacks: coffee, bananas, cheese and crackers

  2. I’m curious what the literature is for coffee and running beyond the 1-2 cups before a long run to help clear you up and get a little extra energy. I’ve seen more anecdotal reports of, as long as you stay hydrated and don’t randomly change your coffee consumption, you should be fine. I drink 2-5 cups a day! not giving it up lol

    Good to see you actually seeing performance improvement from your training! A great feeling!

    Not sure on my jam, but my currently fav snack are lightly salted pretzels

Leave a Reply

