I’ve been absent and this will be all over the place

I promise I have been thinking about this blog every day. Things just tend to get busy and before you know it it’s 10:30pm and you’re falling asleep sitting up. That being said, prepare yourselves for a post that will be everywhere, just to get you up to speed.

Food: I’ve been doing some good eating lately!
Meat has slowly found its way back into my diet, starting with Sunday’s shrimp. There’s definitely a lot less of it than usual and I’m finding ways to sneak more protein in too (my love for eggs has grown significantly). Here’s some snapshots!

20130615-104718.jpg
(Are you surprised?)
I went to dinner with my friend Sarah (who may be moving to California next week!) on Thursday at Vapiano in Lincoln Park.

20130615-105350.jpg
It’s fun, casual, with stations for each type of food. They use a swipe card system and you just pay at the end.

20130615-104822.jpg
Yummy yummy yummy Toscana pizza. It had bruschetta, olives, pesto, pepperoni, and love baked in. I had just finished a run and pizza sounded perfect.

20130615-105622.jpg
Sarah had spaghetti primavera and said it was delicious. I was a little jealous of the bread that came with her meal and not mine.

20130615-105728.jpgThen our mutual love for all things fro-yo emerged and we had to go.

Today so far I’ve had a yogurt bowl (see above), a banana, and a hard boiled egg, but I’m on my way to my parents for a family function so delicious food isn’t too far away.

Fitness: did two runs and one silly cross training day
Wednesday: there was a very stressful Blackhawks game that I had to watch so I made up a workout to go along with it!

20130615-110142.jpg
It worked! I did wayyyyy more burpees than I wanted to but otherwise I had fun doing it! (note: I fell asleep about 0.3 seconds into the first OT so this workout only lasted regulation time)

Thursday: did a 4 mile run right before dinner with Sarah. My focus was to try to keep a tempo and it went okay. My splits ranged from 9:00 to 9:30 per mile. Definitely better than thinking my warmup is about 10 min/miles when it’s really 8:30s…

Friday: rest

Saturday: went for a 6 miles slow and easy run. Splits ranged from 9:30-10:00. My goal was to go easy so it was nice hearing such slow paces! I’m more consistent in maintaining a slow pace so I’ll start from there. Mile 1 “apparently” happened in under 8 minutes but after further inspection I found this:

20130615-110852.jpg
I promised I did not run in a giant square in under a minute. From now on I’ll have to give my phone a minute to warm up. Or invest in something reliable like a Garmin.

Friends: this has been a great week for friends!
Spent the Blackhawks game with my sister, always a good time!
Dinner Thursday with Sarah was a wonderful time! I don’t see her nearly as much as I want to (and now that she’s moving even less so) but we always have a great time catching up!

20130615-111211.jpg
Good luck in CA!
And to top it off a friend just came back into the city this morning from his first deployment. Always a blessing.

Tonight is my cousin Iza’s graduation party (where have the last 18 years gone?!) and tomorrow I’ve got the Color Run with my coworkers!

Question: what interesting things are you up to this weekend? Favorite pizza toppings? I like them all, just not at once.

2 thoughts on “I’ve been absent and this will be all over the place

  1. I fell asleep sitting up last night!….at like 9:30 watching smelliest animals on Nat Geo channel.. haha
    Vapianno’s is a great and easy place to eat! I wish it was a little close to me.

    And that work out routine during the game? now that’s committed!
    This weekend, went to M Henrietta! Bread pudding! Tomorrow french toast! running and trying to heal up my calf!

Leave a Reply

