Typical Tuesday

Today was just another Tuesday. Duh, have you seen the title of this post?

A few things did stand out about it, though.

  1. I had a really breakthrough moment with one of my students, with whom I have been working for the better part of a year. I kid you not, I totally did on of those fist-held-overhead poses for a good 10 seconds after it happened. It felt real good.
  2. We had some delicious, and maybe a little healthy (there’s fruit involved?), snacks during our lunch hour.

20130611-204017.jpg

Dried pineapple is really one of my favorite things to munch on. Probably because it tastes like pineapple flavored sugar cubes (again with this whole sugar dependency…oops!)

20130611-204048.jpg

I’m not really sure what’s wrong with me but I’ve really been digging raisins lately, which is strange because they’re just old grapes and I hate grapes that are anything less than crunchy.

Workout: Speed work! 1 mile warmup plus 2×1 miles with 90 seconds rest. 

Before my run, my feet felt super heavy, so I elevated them to get some of the blood flowing. Does anyone else do this? It helps my feet feel lighter really quickly! I think it’s actually a yoga move (I didn’t make that up, promise!)20130611-204120.jpg

My splits are as follows: 9:38, 8:07, 7:37

I know I couldn’t have made it much longer than those 2 miles at that kind of pace. And again, even with a reader’s suggestion of having pace feedback every quarter mile, I couldn’t manage to keep any consistency with my pacing. I’m a failure at that. Whoops. But hey, I ran a mile at a 7:37. That’s definitely a personal best for me!

And then there’s this sunset view…..

20130611-204149.jpg

Dinner was some leftover cheesy potatoes with some soyrizo and spinach, and maybe a wedge of Laughing Cow Chipotle Queso Fresco for extra delicious creamy cheesiness. 20130611-204629.jpgIt’s not the prettiest meal but a) it’s a one pan deal and b) it was so flavorful!

Have you ever had soyrizo? What’s your favorite way to eat potatoes?

3 thoughts on “Typical Tuesday

  1. Great job with the 7:37 mile!! You have a lot of potential bubbling in you! I haven’t tired the legs up technique yet, I’ll keep it in mind for the next day my legs feel like bricks.

    Your internalized pace will come! it takes a good amount of time to figure it out. Your making good progress!

    I’m jealous of the pineapple and chocolate covered raisins!!
    Never had soyriza.. Favorite way to eat a potato? Fully loaded with the skin on!

Leave a Reply

