Coffee fail

My plans for today were pretty lofty. Work out last night, stay up later than you need to, then up obscenely early to get some cross training in. What a fail

I do this all the time, but I’m usually under the impression that I can get a lot accomplished on less than 7-8 hours of sleep. How wrong I am every time. After falling asleep while drinking my first cup of coffee I knew I was a goner (and let’s be honest, I’d much rather have enough energy for my tempo run tomorrow than my elliptical workout today) so I went back into bed.

An hour later, I tried doing Tuesday again and I was much more successful.
IMG_2525
Mmm, much better. This one actually woke me up

Sometimes a rest day is exactly what a body needs. I’ve been pushing myself on less than my usual sleep the last three days and it really came back to bite me today. I’m going to forgo my cross training today for a few reasons.

  • I’ve worked out 3 times in the last 2 days.
  • My body need time to recover and I forget that sometimes. Week one is not the time to push myself too hard. Injuries=no go. I’ve had more than enough of those to last me a lifetime.
  • Not working out this morning doesn’t mean I’m not working out today.

I’m committing myself to doing some strength and (much needed) core work tonight. I will make sure to get this cross train day in later this week.
Until then, I’m just going to enjoy my oh-so-delicious breakfast and not sweat it for now (pun totally intended)
IMG_2526

Question: how much sleep do you need a night? What do you do when you miss a workout?

2 thoughts on “Coffee fail

  1. I make sure I get around 6 hours a night. By Friday I am usually pretty tired and catch up a little bit on the weekend.

    When I miss a workout i get cranky, but try to figure out how to make it up so I don’t get in a sour mood. I either think of another time of the day to do it, or to at a little to other runs or just switch my rest day.

Leave a Reply

