Birthday Fiestas

Alright, let me update you on all the madness that was my fantastic weekend and yesterday too.

Saturday, I ran 6.5 miles in the morning. The weather was beyond beautiful (sunny and 65) and the run went pretty great. I managed to keep my pace down, after mile 1, to about a 9:30. I would show you my splits, but my running app decided to pause my workout part way through mile 4, then restart at the end of mile 5, so my splits were way off. According to it, I ran mile 5 in 35 seconds, and also ran across part of Lake Michigan. I’m kind of flattered by how fast my phone thinks I am. Overall, it took me about an hour and two minutes to do, according to my best guess.

Bad news though: I felt a bunch of strange pain in my upper left thigh and it has lingered so I think I’m going to take a few days off, at least until it stops hurting early in the morning. 😦

I stopped by work during the day on Saturday to work on a few things, then it was time to hustle and get ready for my friend Katie’s birthday! It was a packed weekend that started with picking her up from the airport. She was flying back into town from a wedding.
IMG_2152
TSA must have appreciated the random women going through the airport with giant signs and sunglasses.

IMG_2153
On our way back to Katie’s, we treated her to a fantastic Culver’s birthday dinner.

And then it was off to drinks with friends!
IMG_2163
A few of my sorority sisters from college. We are a glamorous bunch.

IMG_2168
There was a lot of dancing.

Sunday, Katie’s parents came into town and her fiancee hosted a big, Mexican themed potluck birthday lunch for her at his apartment. I brought Mexican pizza that I make up; it was a giant hit! There was no real recipe, but here’s what I eyeballed onto it

IMG_2173
Mexican Pizza
On a pizza crust (I chose the Target brand of extra thin crust, not refridgerated or anything) spread about half a can of refried beans, browned ground beef (I put fajita spice in mine when I cooked it), chopped tomatoes, chopped green bell peppers, chopped onions, lots of mexican blend cheese, cilantro, and chopped jalepeno (optional-though if yo know me you know it’s not an option) Throw it in the oven until the cheese melts (12ish minutes). Devour.

No birthday party is complete without cake.
IMG_2178
It was really yummy. I had a wonderful time and I know the birthday girl was really happy! It was a really busy and fun weekend.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Fiestas

Leave a Reply

