Quick and Dirty Workout

No, sickos, I’m talking about circuit training. 

I woke up this morning to the stark realization that there was no way I was going to make it to the gym. The hour that we had lost yesterday had come back to haunt me in a big way. It took all I could not to fall asleep resetting my alarm for a later time. But I made it, and sleep I did, and I am so happy I did. Sometimes you just gotta listen to your body when it yells at you says to go back to sleep.

Thankfully, though, I axed yesterday as a rest day and got a really quick and dirty work out in! (And – shocker!- this one involved zero running.) My mom has a stationery bike and some free weights so I decided to make the most of them.

Quick and Dirty Workout:

Bike sprint, 1 min-aim for 20 mph

1 min plank

Bike sprint, 1 min

Shoulder Raises-front and side, 10 reps each

Shoulder Press-10 reps

Bike Sprint, 1 min

1 min Plank

Bike Sprint, 1 min

Repeat arms shoulder sequence

Bike Sprint 1 min

1 min plank

This entire workout only took me about 15 minutes, but the circuit aspect had me dripping sweat after the first plank! I blasted some upbeat music and powered through it without stopping, except about halfway through the second plank (I broke that one up into two planks of 30 sec)

photo 1

(I’m really proud of that. It takes a lot for me to do anything for 3 minutes, let alone something as nasty as planks)

The rest of Sunday included running errands, including going to Target twice. (Oops)

photo 1
These shirts are all on sale for $5. I got 4 of them (orange stripe, yellow stripe, grey, and white)

Then dinner, which at my parents means more options for food than you can possible imagine!

photo 2

And this was just for 3 people! I tried one of everything, of course (because I’ve got great table manners). My favorite was the butternut squash sautee, that had agave nectar and brown sugar. There’s something about orange foods that I love!

Keep posted, because I’ll have a **quinoa** recipe for you later today!

Question: what’s your favorite thing to buy at Target? Clothes, shoes, and accessories (my wardrobe is about 45% Target, 45% Old Navy, 10% gifts from more expensive stores). And I always have good luck with swimsuits there too. (My sister and I have both been fighting over eyeing this one.

Leave a Reply

