Peanut Butter Quinoa

A short time ago I posted asking for quinoa recipes so I could experiment with the new bag I got. Looked at tons of ideas but the one that stood to me most was the idea of a breakfast quinoa that one of my readers had suggested (your comment has somehow gotten deleted, though, so I can’t find you to thank you! Make yourself known if you read this-you deserve some credit!)

I made quinoa plain, once, with some chili spices, salt, and pepper. And it was good, but not fabulous. Last night I had some extra time so I decided to take that reader’s advice and invent my own recipe for breakfast quinoa. The result was fantastic and reminded me of a mix between oatmeal and oversized grits. Here’s the recipe, hope you enjoy!

Peanut Butter Quinoa

1/2 cup quinoa (I had white, but I’m sure any kind would work)

1 cup milk (in my case, soy)

1/2 Tsp ground cinnamon

1 Tbsp honey (to taste)

1 Tbsp nut butter (to taste)

Chopped almonds (optional)

Combine quinoa and milk in sauce pan on medium-high heat until it boils. Watch out for it boiling over. That could lead to a messy situation. Bring down to simmer and let quinoa absorb the liquid (about 15 min or so). I made sure to stir it occasionally because the milk made a little film on top.

When it’s ready, the quinoa should be pretty soft, with a little texture to it, and each grain should have a little white ring border. It reminded me of slightly moist couscous at this point.

Bring off heat. Stir in cinnamon, nut butter, and honey to taste (my measurements are estimations of the amounts I used, but you can put in more or less depending on your preferences. I may add slightly less p.b. and a little more honey next time)

Top with almonds and enjoy!

photo

This is how mine turned out. It’s not the prettiest color and the peanut butter makes it even browner but it was really good! I had planned on working out this morning so mine was made the night before but even reheated it tasted really fabulous and filling! Note: when I reheated mine, I added a splash more milk for the quinoa to reabsorb some moisture.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Quinoa

Leave a Reply

