Birthday Week!

Technically this started last week but I’ve been too busy to revel in the fact that my birthday is this Friday!!! After unpacking my bag and going to sleep super early yesterday I’m finally feeling rested enough to be excited (this cough and sore throat though? So not welcome or appreciated).

This morning’s post is a quick one, I only have two things to let you know about. The first is breakfast. Oatmeal is nothing new but it was so pretty this morning and worth some credit.

20130220-063558.jpg
Some old fashioned oats to which I added chia seeds and some homemade vanilla (best Christmas gift ever!). I chopped up a banana on top and tossed on a lot of blueberries, slivered almonds, and a scoop of peanut butter. yum yum yum

Second thing I wanted to tell you was that yesterday was a pretty monumental day. This happened:

20130220-063937.jpg
I guess it’s official. It’s so far away that I feel like I’ll be well prepared for it. But on the other hand, I clicked “pay” and my insides were doing this.

Question: anybody out there use a marathon training program their first time? What are your recommendations?

3 thoughts on “Birthday Week!

  1. I love oatmeal, yours looks delicious! Good luck with your marathon!! I’ve only done a half and it was so thrilling to finish it, I can’t imagine how accomplished I would feel doing a full one, i advise to get a great playlist to keep your butt movin 🙂

    1. Thanks! The end of my half last year was really emotional. I’m sure I’ll be a wreck when I finish the full. Definitely need to start that playlist going because I’m so picky about music I run to, but I’ve found I also like listening to books on tape. Since there’s no beat my pace becomes more natural and not forced to match whatever I’m listening to.

      I love really upbeat, mindless music when I run. Any good recs that may not be obvious?

Leave a Reply

