New Place, Old Faces

Today’s workout was pleasantly surprising, but not because of what I did! More on why it was awesome later; here’s a little breakdown of my day.

Workout: 5 min warmup on the elliptical, 2.8 mile run on treadmill (5.6 mph: picking up the pace!), 10 minutes on the stairmaster. And some arm and shoulder strength training at home.

Those stairmaster minutes were grueling on my calves even though I went at a pretty reasonable pace (55-60 steps per minute). I really want to work my glutes though!

Dinner: Was put together at the last minute, but would have changed the course of my day if I had planned better. Actually, no, I did have it planned, but then forgot to take the salmon out of the freezer and was forced to scramble. When ensued was a Luna bar that I annihilated on the way home from the gym, a quick drink of almond milk, chocolate protein powder, and some chia seeds, and a few spoonfuls of peanut butter.

photo-1

Terrible quality photo. Clearly I love anything Smores flavored. (With a cameo by chapstick)

Now on to the good stuff! Even though I’ve been only been going to my gym for 3 days, I’ve seen 2 familiar faces! I love when that happens too; it’s always comforting to see old faces in new environments. One was a more recent friend who lives in the area and one was a total blast from the past! As in, haven’t seen this person in 6 years and we almost walked by each other. It was wonderful catching up though and now I know I’ve got another neighbor.

Question: Recently ran into someone that you haven’t seen in forever? How did that go? (Obviously my experience was positive but I’m sure that’s not always the case.)

Leave a Reply

