Hopping on my Soapbox

Anybody that knows me knows that I’m really passionate about children (HELLO, I’ve spent the last 3 days at a conference all about the little tykes). I’m not going to go into a rant about Early Childhood Education because this is neither the time nor place for it, but I did have a workshop yesterday that covered a topic I think is essential to discuss; the importance of physical activity for young children. As adults, health and physical fitness is a choice that we make, and it’s obvious when that occurs. We go to the gym, we run, we join sports leagues. However, it’s harder to pick out similar activities in young children (I’m talking the itty bitty ones folks, my under-5 crowd) and children are now becoming less fit then ever. The fantastic Sharron Krull discusses all about how important physical activity is to brain development and all that but I just found some of the statistics she shared about today’s children terrifying.

  • 75% of kids get less than 20 minutes of vigorous exercise per day.
  • But, the average kid gets about 30-40 hours of screen time (tv, movies, video games, computer, internet) per week!
  • 1 in 5 American 4-year olds is obese (this one made me so sad)
  • We have the first generation of children who will have a shorter life expectancy than their parents. 

    Though I’m not a parent myself, I am sure that no parent would ever want to know that their child’s life is going to be shorter and less healthy than theirs.

Physical children are much more likely to become physical adults than sedentary ones, so if any of you readers are parents please please please remember how important it is to get your children in on the exercise, however you can!

I’m done with that bit now.

Yesterday’s Workout: 3.4 miles on the treadmill, 5.2 mph (working my way up slowly!), 0.5% incline

Felt good picking up the pace a little bit and I had to hustle to meet friends after so I couldn’t get a long run in like I had hoped.

Dinner: Deliciousness. Had some leftover salad from my lunch at the conference…photo 1

(This salad literally had everything in it: spinach, tomato, radish, olive, peppers, mushrooms, carrots, garbanzo beans, beets, balsamic on the side, and there wassss a little chicken salad next to it that I ate before snapping the shot. Oh and 3 croutons)

…so I decided to grill up some chicken to top it off, sprinkle a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar on the colorful mess, and finish it. So yummy. 

photo 2

(My abundant counter space. For real, that’s it.)

Gobbled it up before going out to celebrate my friend Katie’s new job!

Leave a Reply

