Ice Bath Adventures

Like I mentioned last night, I took an ice bath after my workout. After being out of commission (ie too busy/lazy/cold) to work out, last night’s stairs and treadmill combo were really tough on the hamstrings. They were a little achy after I finished running and I could only imagine how much more sore they would be.

After reading this article… http://www.active.com/triathlon/Articles/8-Ice-Bath-Dos-and-Donts

and this one… http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/more-sports/running-doc-chill-ice-bath-article-1.1208107

I decided on a quick cold water immersion. No ice involved here! I kept switching the bath water between what I’m sure should be labeled “Arctic” and “Cold but Tolerable.” Since I was just focusing on my lower legs and hamstrings, I only put in about 2-3 inches of water. Stepping into the bath sucked and so did forcing myself to sit down all the way. But after a minute it really wasn’t all that bad! My body got used to the cold (though I had goosebumps the whole time) and my toes were out of the water so they didn’t freeze like I was warned might happen.

Also, the best feeling on the planet? Putting on flannel pants and slippers after getting out of an ice bath. I am sure of it.

This morning I”m feeling pretty good. That may also be due to the fact that I’ll be at a conference all week so I got to sleep in an hour. 🙂 But seriously, my calves don’t ache at all and my hamstrings have just a little soreness. After intense workouts, I’m used to that strong, how-will-I-be-able-to-move-today kind of soreness and that is nowhere to be found. In fact, I don’t feel much of anything. I guess that counts as a success! Looks like ice baths are going to be part of my new recovery routine. But only after the reallllly tough days.

Got to sleep in an hour later than I usually do, until 6:30, and I am shocked at what a difference it made. Didn’t even need the cup of coffee I drank (but it was oh so good anyway). I usually get a good 7 hours but I’m thinking it’s time to go to sleep a little earlier and catch a few extra z’s.

Breakfast was yogurt with Trader Joe’s Mixed Berry Clusters cereal, coffee with a little vanilla creamer, and (to pack a little protein in) a small glass of almond milk with some chocolate protein powder.

photo-1

My breakfast: because I’d rather show you that than me in an ice bath. Yum!

Question for the day: Have you ever taken an ice bath/cold water immersion bath? How’d it go? Any tips for someone who hates cold?

Leave a Reply

